What A Galapagos Trip Really Costs: Package, Flights, Park Fee And Transit Card

The sticker price of a Galapagos package is only the first of four bills. This guide adds up the package fare, the mainland flight, the national park entrance fee and the transit card, then shows how the per-night rate falls as your itinerary lengthens.

A small boat anchored in a calm Galapagos bay with volcanic hills behind it

Short answer

A land-based package runs from $450 to $2,898 per person, and cruises from $3,560 to $8,066. On top of the fare, budget $200 for the park entrance fee and $20 for the transit card, both paid separately, plus your mainland flights, which most listings do not include.

How Much Does A Galapagos Trip Cost In Total?

A realistic total for a five-day land-based package starts at the fare, about $1,399 on the most-reviewed mid-range option, plus $220 in park and transit fees paid separately, plus a mainland flight, since most listings do not include airfare. Cruise packages start higher, from $3,560, and run to $8,066 for a seven-day small-ship itinerary. The package fare is only one of four bills, and three of them arrive separately.

Travellers routinely budget for the headline fare and then meet the other costs at the airport counter. The Galapagos National Park collects its entrance fee in cash, in US dollars, from rangers at Baltra or San Cristobal airport, and there is no official online prepayment portal for it. The transit card is bought at a separate counter in Quito or Guayaquil before you check in. Neither is folded into a typical package price, and on this roster of 50 packages the listings simply do not state whether the park fee is included on 33 of them, which means "not stated", not "included".

A departure hall counter where travellers queue with backpacks and rolling bags

The honest way to plan is to build the total from the four bills and then check each one against the listing you are about to book. That is what the rest of this guide does, using verified package fares from the live listings and official fee figures from the park and the regional government. Where a number is genuinely unknowable in advance, such as airfare, it says so rather than guessing.

One structural fact helps every budget: 79 percent of Galapagos visitors stay on land rather than on a vessel, according to the park's own annual visitor report, and the land-based market is where the lower fares live. If your total feels too high, the format is the first lever to pull, and our cruise versus land package comparison works through that trade-off in detail.

A few practical details make the airport sequence smoother. The park fee is per person and applies to foreign adults, so a couple should carry $400 in cash between them before flying from the mainland, and the fee is not waived for children on most itineraries. The transit card is also per person and per trip, so it is repurchased on the return leg if you leave and re-enter the islands. Because both are paid in US dollars, travellers coming from other currencies should withdraw cash in Quito or Guayaquil rather than relying on island ATMs, which can run short during peak arrival days.

Timing matters as much as the fees themselves. Since September is the quietest month for arrivals and foreign demand peaks in March and April, the same five-day land-based package can look very different in price depending on when you book it, and the shoulder months around the trough are where package pricing softens first. If your dates are flexible, checking the same listing in both windows is the fastest way to see the difference before you commit to the four-bill total.

The Four Separate Bills That Make Up A Galapagos Trip Cost

Every Galapagos trip generates four bills: the package fare, the mainland-to-islands flight, the $200 park entrance fee, and the $20 Ingala transit card. The package fare varies from $450 to $8,066 depending on format and length. The other three are fixed or volatile, but they are never part of the package fare on most listings, so a total built from the fare alone will always undershoot.

The package fare is what the listing quotes. On this site's roster it spans $450 for a four-day bay tour to $8,066 for a seven-day cruise, and every price is per person. The flight from Quito or Guayaquil to Baltra or San Cristobal is a separate purchase on most packages; on 16 of the 50 listings the flights field is simply not stated, and only a handful, such as the 4-Day Highlights package at $2,299, explicitly include roundtrip airfare.

A naturalist guide briefing a small group of travellers beside a docked small ship

The park entrance fee is $200 for foreign adults and $100 for foreign children under 12, rates that took effect on 1 August 2024 and are published on the official park fee page. The transit control card is $20 per person, per trip, bought at the Consejo de Gobierno counter at Quito or Guayaquil airport before airline check-in; free online pre-registration speeds up the counter visit but does not replace it, as the official transit card FAQ makes clear.

Bill Typical amount When and where you pay it
Package fare $450 to $8,066 per person At booking, to the operator
Mainland to islands flight Volatile, not published as fact At booking, to the airline
Park entrance fee, foreign adult $200 cash, US dollars To rangers on arrival at Baltra or San Cristobal
Park entrance fee, foreign child under 12 $100 cash Same counter, same moment
Ingala transit control card $20 per person CGREG counter at Quito or Guayaquil, before check-in

Add the fixed pair, $220 for one adult, to whatever fare and flight you are considering, and the total stops surprising you at the airport. If you are comparing two packages and one is more than $220 cheaper, the fee gap is not the reason, and the difference lives in the fare itself.

Here are three packages at three very different points on that price spectrum, from a land-based five-day trip to a seven-day small-ship cruise:

What The Package Fare Actually Covers

Most land-based packages on this roster include hotels, breakfast and lunch, guided day excursions and inter-island logistics, while dinners, flights, the park fee and the transit card sit outside the fare. Cruise fares are closer to all-inclusive at sea: the 5-Day Seaman Journey and the Private 5-Day Cruise both include breakfast, lunch and dinner. Read the meals line carefully, because "breakfast and lunch included" still leaves you buying dinner every night in port towns.

The meals split matters more than people expect. On a five-day trip, five dinners in Puerto Ayora or Puerto Villamil can add a meaningful amount to the real total, and the packages that include all meals, such as the 8-Day Multisport at $2,363 or the 4-Day Land Tour at $1,020, remove that variable entirely. The 4-Day Express at $714 includes breakfast only, which is the thinnest coverage on the roster and is priced accordingly.

A hotel dining table set with fruit, rolls and coffee for breakfast

Hotel pickup is another line to check. Most packages include it, but the 6-Day Hopping, the 8-Day Hopping and the Essential Budget tour explicitly do not, which means you absorb the transfer cost and the coordination. None of this is hidden; it is printed on the listings, but the total only becomes real when you add the excluded pieces deliberately.

The 5-Day, 3 Islands package at $1,399 is a useful reference point for what a mid-range fare buys: 4.7 across 56 reviews, the largest review pool on the roster, breakfast and lunch, hotel pickup, and confirmed stops that include Bartolome, North Seymour and Floreana. It excludes the Galapagos flight, which is stated plainly in its own title. You can read the full itinerary on the 5-Day Intensive Land-Based Tour page, or Check availability to see the live fare.

How The Per-Night Rate Falls As Your Itinerary Gets Longer

Dividing fare by nights shows a clear pattern on the land-based roster: the ten-day Island Hopping package costs $2,287, barely more than double the four-day Land Tour at $1,020, while covering more than twice the nights. Fixed costs, setup, briefings, first and last transfers, spread across more nights as the trip lengthens, so the per-night premium of a short trip evaporates. A longer itinerary is usually the cheaper way to buy the archipelago.

The short end of the market carries a genuine premium. The 4-Day Land Tour at $1,020 buys four nights of hotels, boats and guides, while the 10-Day Island Hopping at $2,287 buys ten nights for less than two and a quarter times the money. The 9-Day Hopping at $2,366 is the outlier in the other direction, priced above its ten-day neighbour despite one fewer night, which is a reminder that the pattern is a tendency, not a law. The full index of guides sits on Galapagos Islands Tour Packages.

A wooden walkway leading through arid volcanic scrub toward the sea
Package Days Fare per person What the length buys
4-Day Land Tour, Isabela and Santa Cruz 4 $1,020 All meals included, hotel pickup
5-Day, 3 Islands, Flights Excluded 5 $1,399 Breakfast and lunch, hotel pickup
6-Day Land Tour, 3 Islands 6 $1,989 Breakfast and lunch
7-Day Penguin Route 7 $1,857 Breakfast and lunch, hotel pickup
8-Day Island Hopping 8 $1,829 Breakfast and lunch, no pickup
10-Day Island Hopping 10 $2,287 Breakfast and lunch, no pickup
Bar chart of package fare by itinerary length from four to ten days
Fares rise far more slowly than nights: the ten-day package costs barely more than twice the four-day fare while covering more than twice the itinerary.

Cruises follow the same logic at a higher altitude. The 5-Day Seaman Journey at $4,500 and the 7-Day La Pinta cruise at $8,066 both buy full board and remote visitor sites that day boats cannot reach, and the seven-day fare is not even double the five-day one. Our guide to choosing a package length goes deeper on the days-versus-value question.

The Extras That Add Up Beyond The Package Price

Beyond the fare and the two airport fees, the recurring extras are dinners on half-board packages, wetsuit and snorkel rentals, tips for crew and guides, drinks and Wi-Fi on cruises, and the Itabaca Channel crossing if you land at Baltra, which costs about $1 by barge plus $2 for the bus to Puerto Ayora. Traveller reports put cruise tips in the $200 to $400 range per person for a week, though that is reported experience, not an official tariff.

The Baltra transfer is small but real, and it is officially documented: a free bus runs from the terminal to the Itabaca Channel, the barge crossing is $1, and the public bus on the Santa Cruz side is about $2 for the 45-minute ride into Puerto Ayora. A shared taxi is about $25 for the vehicle. None of this appears in any package fare because it happens before most packages begin.

A small passenger ferry crossing a narrow channel between two volcanic shorelines
Extra Planning range Notes
Dinners on half-board packages Varies by town and appetite Only on packages listing breakfast and lunch
Wetsuit and snorkel rental Check with the operator before packing Quality varies; many travellers bring their own mask
Tips, crew and guide $200 to $400 per person per week, per traveller reports Not an official tariff
Itabaca Channel crossing from Baltra About $1 barge, $2 bus, $25 shared taxi Official park arrival information
Drinks and Wi-Fi on cruises Check the listing Frequently outside the fare

Two rules from the park also have small cost consequences. Sunscreens containing oxybenzone or octinoxate are restricted during water activities under the visit rules in force since August 2026, so a reef-safe product is effectively a required purchase if you do not own one. And six popular sites, including the Fausto Llerena tortoise centre and Las Grietas, now require an advance QR reservation made by a registered local agency, which is one more reason a package with an operator beats assembling day tours yourself.

How Package Length And Format Change What You Pay

Format moves the total more than length does. A four-day land package starts at $450, a five-day private cruise runs from $3,560, and a seven-day luxury cruise reaches $8,066. Within land-based hopping, lengthening from four to ten days raises the fare from $1,020 to $2,287 while the per-night rate falls. Small-group and private formats carry premiums over standard group packages at the same length.

The private premium is visible directly on the roster. The Private 7-Day Hopping at $1,650 and the standard 7-Day Three-Island Hopping at the same $1,650 price point show that private does not always cost more, but the Private 5-Day Cruise at $3,560 sits well above every land-based five-day option. Small-group and private formats price their exclusivity, and the same five days can cost anywhere from $1,108 for the 5-Day Santa Cruz Isabela tour to $3,560 for a private cruise, depending on what is shared.

Travellers snorkelling in clear shallow water above a rocky reef

Mainland combinations change the arithmetic again. The 10-Day Machu Picchu and Galapagos combo at $2,927.11 covers two destinations, so its per-night rate is not comparable to an islands-only package, and the 12-Day Cusco and Galapagos tour at $4,495 includes all meals on the islands leg. If your actual question is whether Ecuador's mainland should share the itinerary, the Galapagos and mainland Ecuador packages guide prices that decision.

The budget floor is real but thin. The 4-Day Islands Express at $714 includes breakfast only and no lunches, and the Essential Budget tour at $865 skips hotel pickup. Our budget packages guide maps the whole lower end of the market, including which corners each cheap package actually cuts.

Budgeting Realistically: Sample Totals

Expect roughly $934 per person before flights for a four-day budget land package, about $1,619 plus flights for five days mid-range, and anywhere from $3,780 to $8,286 plus flights for a seven-day cruise. The one number no article can honestly print is airfare, since fares change constantly and only the airline can quote your exact dates.

These sample totals use the fixed $220 fee pair and the roster's own fares. They assume one adult foreign traveller and exclude airfare, tips and rentals. The mid-range five-day traveller choosing the 5-Day, 3 Islands package at $1,399 with 56 reviews behind it gets the most-reviewed product on the roster for the money, which is a legitimate comfort when the rest of the budget is guesswork.

A town waterfront at dusk with lights reflecting on calm water and fishing boats
Trip style Package fare Park fee and card Total before flights
4-day budget hopping $714 $220 $934
4-day full-board land tour $1,020 $220 $1,240
5-day mid-range hopping $1,399 $220 $1,619
8-day multisport, all meals $2,363 $220 $2,583
7-day small-ship cruise $6,137 $220 $6,357
7-day luxury cruise $8,066 $220 $8,286

The pattern worth internalising: the fee pair is close to a quarter of a budget four-day total but a small slice of a luxury cruise total. The cheaper your package, the more the fixed costs dominate, and the more it pays to book a longer itinerary that dilutes them. For a week-by-week view of what people actually spend, our piece on seven-day Galapagos trip costs works through that specific length.

A sea lion resting on a wooden dock beside stacked tour boats

If the mid-range path looks right, these are the three packages from this guide's price spectrum again, from hopping to small-ship cruising:

Common Questions About Galapagos Trip Cost

How Much Does A Galapagos Trip Cost In Total?

Count four bills: the package fare ($450 to $8,066 per person on this roster), the mainland flight, the $200 park entrance fee and the $20 transit card. A mid-range five-day land package totals about $1,619 before flights; a seven-day cruise runs from roughly $3,780 to $8,286 before flights.

Is The $200 Park Entrance Fee Included In Package Prices?

Usually not. On 33 of the 50 packages on this roster the listing does not state either way, which means "not stated", not "included". The fee is paid in cash, in US dollars, to park rangers on arrival at Baltra or San Cristobal airport, and there is no official online prepayment portal.

Do Galapagos Packages Include Flights?

Most do not. On 16 of 50 listings the flights question is simply not stated. A few, such as the 4-Day Highlights package at $2,299, explicitly include roundtrip airfare. Assume flights are extra unless the listing says otherwise, and price them with the airline directly.

Why Is The Per-Night Rate Lower On Longer Packages?

Fixed costs, setup, briefings, first and last transfers, get spread across more nights. The ten-day Island Hopping package costs $2,287, barely more than double the four-day Land Tour at $1,020, while covering more than twice the nights, so a longer itinerary often buys more archipelago for a lower nightly rate.

What Extra Costs Should I Budget Beyond The Package?

Dinners on half-board packages, wetsuit and snorkel rentals, tips (travellers report $200 to $400 per person for a cruise week), drinks and Wi-Fi, and the roughly $3 in bus and ferry fares between Baltra airport and Puerto Ayora. A reef-safe sunscreen is effectively required, since products with oxybenzone or octinoxate are restricted during water activities.

Are Galapagos Cruises More Expensive Than Land-Based Packages?

Yes, substantially. Land-based packages on this roster run $450 to $2,898, while cruises run $3,560 to $8,066, though cruise fares include full board and reach remote sites day boats cannot. The park's own data shows 79 percent of visitors stay on land, which is where the lower fares live.

Want A Package With The Extras Already Itemised?

The 5-Day, 3 Islands package spells out what is and is not included, which makes budgeting the second and third bills far easier. The live booking page shows the current fare alongside the operator's own terms, so open the listing before you price flights.

Check Price & Availability →

from $1,399 · ★ 4.7 (56 reviews) Check Availability →